José Carreras Award


José Carreras Award

José Carreras, who himself underwent a transplant procedure in Seattle, USA, in 1988, was instrumental in setting up the José Carreras Foundation in Barcelona. The Foundation has established a program of scholarships for scientists working in the field. He has also personally supported many other clinical and basic aspects of haematopetic stem cell transplant activity on both sides of the Atlantic.

The EHA - José Carreras Award was established to honor leading and active investigators in hematological research who have made a large contribution to hematology.

Every year, the EHA Board selects a winner. The award is presented in the Opening Ceremony of the Annual Congress, in which the winner is invited to deliver a lecture.

Candidature for this award alternates annually between basic scientists and clinicians and selection is based on a number of criteria such as the support of European Hematology, area of expertise, eligibility, other awards, gender and country of origin.

Previous winners of the EHA José Carreras Award

Year Winner Venue
2014H Döhner (GER) 19th Congress of EHA, Milan
2013K Rajewsky (GER)18th Congress, Stockholm
2012J San Miguel (ES)17th Congress, Amsterdam
2011D Higgs (UK)16th Congress, London
2010B Falini (I) 15th Congress, Barcelona
2009W Vainchenker (F) 14th Congress, Berlin
2008J Goldman (UK)13th Congress, Copenhagen
2007R Bertina (NL)12th Congress, Vienna
2006E Gluckman (F)11th Congress, Amsterdam
2005H Waldmann (UK)10th Congress, Stockholm
2004V Diehl (G)9th Congress, Geneva
2003C Verfaillie (B)8th Congress, Lyon
2002L Luzzatto (I)7th Congress, Florence
2001M Greaves (UK)6th Congress, Frankfurt
2000D Collen (B)5th Congress, Birmingham
1999C Rozman (ES)4th Congress, Barcelona