Jean Bernard Award


Jean Bernard Lifetime Achievement Award

The EHA – Jean Bernard Lifetime Achievement Award was established to honor outstanding physicians and scientists for their lifetime contribution to the advancement of hematology.

Jean A Bernard (May 26, 1907 - April 17, 2006), a French physician and hematologist was Professor of Hematology and director of the Institute for Leukemia, University of Paris Diderot, at the Hôpital Saint Louis. After graduating in medicine in Paris in 1926, Bernard started his laboratory training with the bacteriologist Gaston Ramon at the Pasteur Institute in 1929.

In 1932, Jean Bernard gave the first description of the use of high dosage radiotherapy in the treatment of Hodgkin's disease. Jean Bernard's research ranges from the demonstration of neoplastic nature of leukemia (1933-1937) to the formulation of methods of treatment. Jean Bernard gave his name to Bernard's syndrome and Bernard-Soulier syndrome. In all, Jean Bernard published 14 textbooks and monographs on hematology. He was elected at the Académie Française on March 18, 1976. In 1981, he was elected a member of Serbian Academy of Sciences and Arts in the Department of Medical Sciences. In 1983, he was awarded the Artois-Baillet Latour Health Prize.

Previous winners of the EHA Jean Bernard Lifetime Achievement Award
2013T Barbui (I)18th Congress, Stockholm
2014Freda Stevenson (UK) 19th Congress of EHA, Milan
2012L Degos (F)17th Congress, Amsterdam
2011B Löwenberg (NL)16th Congress, London
2010E Montserrat (E)15th Congress, Barcelona
2009P Mannuccio Mannuci (I)14th Congress, Berlin
2008D Hoelzer (G)13th Congress, Copenhagen